Congratulations to our 2009 winner
Nigel Stewart-Smith

Nigel's wacky shaggy-dog story was a winner for Malting's Writers. Runner-up was Georgie Knaggs with a delicate and moving African story. 3rd place went to Mary Lewis with a wickedly witty look at Welsh village life.

Nigel Stewart-Smith of Maltings Writers joyously receives the Pint Pot of Fire, which he won with his story "The Writer's Group". It was presented by last year's winner, Rosemary Wisbey of Farnham U3A Writers. Also enjoying the moment is Elliott Manley, founder and compere of the competition.

2009 participants were:

L to R: Chris Hopkins, Mary Lewis, Juliet Borland, Georgie Knaggs, Elliott Manley, Nigel Stewart-Smith, Martin Berry, Tim Allen
  • Farnham U3A Writers Group
    • Mary Lewis, The Quilt
  • Fellowship of the Pen
    • Georgie Knaggs, Shadow of the Baobab
    • Juliet Borland, Adult Education
  • Guildford Speakers Club Martin Berry, Jeremy
  • Chris Hopkins, The Princess and the Acorn
  • Maltings Writers
    • Nigel Stewart-Smith, The Writer¹s Group
  • Woking Speakers Club
    • Tim Allen, This Bird Can Fly
    • (reserve) Doug New, Jeremy
    For more information on the participating clubs and contact details, click here